Self-Titled (Digital Download)


Release Year: 2012

The Self-Titled Pierce Edens album marked an initial stride towards a different musical trajectory. The recording took place at his renovated childhood residence nestled deep within the Appalachian Mountains of Western North Carolina. It signified Pierce’s departure from the “bar-band, rockabilly blues” style that The Dirty Work had honed through years of live shows. This album served as an expedition into a folk-oriented singer-songwriter approach to his music.

Collaborating with Matt Smith, an long-time member of The Dirty Work, Pierce introduced a fresh lineup of musicians to the ensemble, including Jesse James Hongisto. Notably, the album incorporated a string-section, background vocals, and delved deeply into overdubs, textures, and fresh thematic elements.

SKU: DL-SELF Categories: , Tag:

Track Listings

  1. Montana
  2. Lonely
  3. Champagne
  4. Train Tracks
  5. Darlin’
  6. Jailbreak…
  7. …thief
  8. Wayfaring Stranger
  9. Lilly
  10. Wandering Man
  11. Rock and Roll
  12. Mighty, Mighty

Album Credits

  • Pierce Edens: vocals, guitar, banjo, percussion
  • Ron Clearfield: cello
  • Jesse James Hongisto: bass
  • Lady Lane: backup vocals
  • Nicky Sanders: violin
  • Matt Smith: lap steel, pedal steel, slide, and lead guitar
  • Matthew Nielsen: Additional percussion and sequencing

Produced by Adam Johnson and Pierce Edens. Engineered and mastered by Adam Johnson. A SoundLab Studios Production

You may also like…